(THURSDAY, APRIL 28TH, 2022) The Guadalajara Film Festival in its 37th edition (FICG37), which will take place from June, 10th to 18th, announces the official selection in competition.


The selected films are:



1.                  MEZCAL AWARD



1.- Solitude Blue by Alex Argüelles (Mexico)

2.- Courage by Rubén Rojo Aura (Mexico, Spain)

3.- Goya by Pablo Orta Zamora (Mexico)

4.- Brother, Kept by Jorge Iván Sanders-Ortega (Mexico)

5.- The Realm of God by Claudia Sainte-Luce (Mexico)



1.- When the Night Falls by J. Daniel Zúñiga (Mexico)

2.- Far Away From Home by Carlos Hernández Vázquez (Mexico)

3.- Mom by Xun Sero (Mexico)

4.- Orison by Roberto Olivares (Mexico)



1.- Camila Comes Out Tonight by Inés María Barrionuevo (Argentina)

2.- Carajita by Silvina Schnicer, Ulises Porra (Dominican Republic, Argentina)

3.- Solitude Blue by Alex Argüelles (Mexico)

4.- The Cow Who Sang a Song Into the Future by Francisca Alegría (Chile, France, United States, Germany)

5.- EAMI by Paz Encina (Paraguay, Argentina, Mexico, United States, France, Germany, Netherlands)

6.- One Year, One Night by Isaki Lacuesta (Spain, France)

7.- Raquel 1:1 by Mariana Bastos (Brazil)

8.- The Rust by Juan Sebastián Mesa (Colombia, France)

9.- The Shape of Things to Come by V. Checa (Peru, Mexico, Ecuador, Spain, Germany)

10.- Utama by Alejandro Loayza Grisi (Bolivia, Uruguay, France)



1.- Alis by Clare Weiskopf, Nicolas Van Hemelryck (Colombia, Romania, Chile)

2.- Cosmic Chant. Niño de Elche by Leire Apellaniz López, Marc Sempere-Moya (Spain)

3.- The Delights by Eduardo Crespo (Argentina)

4.- The Wait by Ingrid Valencic, María Celeste Contratti (Argentina)

5.- Other Seed by Matías Italo Scarvaci (Argentina)

6.- For Your Peace of Mind, Make Your Own Museum by Pilar Moreno, Ana Endara (Panama)

7.- The Dive by Felipe Zúñiga (Costa Rica, Chile)

8.- The Beach of Enchaquirados by Iván Mora Manzano (Ecuador)

9.- Los Saldos by Raúl Capdevila Murillo (Spain)

10.- The Wind that Moves Us by Pere Puigbert (Spain)

4.                  MAGUEY AWARD


1.- The Affairs of Lidia by Bruce LaBruce (Canada)

2.- Alis by Clare Weiskopf, Nicolas Van Hemelryck (Colombia, Romania, Chile)

3.- Beautiful Beings by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson (Iceland, Denmark, Sweden, Netherlands, Czech Republic)

4.- Camila Comes Out Tonight by Inés María Barrionuevo (Argentina)

5.- Like Me by Eyal Kantor (Israel)

6.- Lonesome by Craig Boreham (Australia)

7.- My Emptiness and I by Adrián Silvestre (Spain)

8.- We Will Never Belong by Amelia Eloisa (Mexico)

9.- Perfume de Gardenias by Macha Colón (Puerto Rico, Colombia)

10.- Petit Mal by Ruth Caudeli (Colombia)

11.- The Beach of Enchaquirados by Iván Mora Manzano (Ecuador)

12.- The Miracle Child by Silvia Brunelli (Italy)

13. Three Tidy Tigers Tied a Tie Tighter by Gustavo Vinagre (Brazil)

5.                  MADE IN JALISCO


1.- The Torch of Failure by Carlos Matsuo, Cristian Franco (Mexico)

2.- Goya by Pablo Orta Zamora (Mexico)

3.- We Will Never Belong by Amelia Eloisa (Mexico)



1.- Black Mambas by Lena Karbe (Germany, France) 

2.- Forest for the Trees by Rita Leistner (Canada)

3.- Holgut by Liesbeth De Ceulaer (Belgium)

4.- How to Kill a Cloud by Tuija Halttunen (Finland, Denmark)

5.- The Territory by Alex Pritz (Brazil, Denmark, United States)



1.- Home is Somewhere Else by Carlos Hagerman, Jorge Villalobos (Mexico, United States)

2.- The Island by Anca Damian (Romania, Belgium, France)

3.- My Love Affair With Marriage by Signe Baumane (Latvia, United States, Luxemburg)

8.                  RIGO MORA AWARD


1.- The Year of the Radio by Samuel Kishi Leopo (Mexico)

2.- Bird in the Peninsula by Atsushi Wada (France, Japan)

3.- Black Slide by Uri Lotan (Israel, United Kingdom)

4.- Once There Was a Sea… by Joanna Kozuch (Slovakia, Poland)

5.- The Boot by Seyed Mohsen Pourmohseni Shakib (Iran)

6.- It wasn’t Bourgogne by Mathias de Panafieu (France)

7.- Flying Sailor by Wendy Tilby, Amanda Forbis (Canada)

8.- The Borderline by Christian Arredondo Narváez (Mexico)

9.- Hold Me Tight by Leoluna Robert-Tourneur (Belgium, France)

10.- Humans Are Dumber When Crammed Up Together by Laurène Fernandez (France)

11.- Ice Merchants by João Gonzalez (Portugal, France, United Kingdom)

12.- Leopoldo from the Bar by Diego Porral (Spain)

13.- Letter to a Pig by Tal Kantor (France, Israel)

14.- Sierra by Sander Joon (Estonia)

15.- Zoon by Jonatan Schwenk (Germany)

9.                  IBERO-AMERICAN SHORT FILM



1.- Air by Kenya Márquez (Mexico)

2.- Au Pair by David Pérez Sañudo (Spain)

3.-Maidenhood by Xóchitl Enríquez Mendoza (Mexico)

4.- Concrete and Steel by Oriol Villar (Spain)

5.- Lunch Break by Nina Kopko (Brazil)

6.- Gemini by Orlando Mora Cabrera (Cuba)

7.- Night Light by Kim Torres (Costa Rica)

8.- Tropicalía by Rodney Llaverías (Dominican Republic)

9.- One Way Journey by José Gómez De Vargas (Dominican Republic, Netherlands, United Kingdom)

10.- Soldier by Francisco Sánchez Solís (Mexico)



1.- ...Esperanza by Mayra Veliz (Mexico)

2.- Farewell, Calon by João Borges (Brazil)

3.- Water in the Gills by Marco Schiavon (Portugal)

4.- Fire Within the Sky by Mariano Rentería Garnica (Mexico)

5.- There's Something I Haven't Said by Massiel Hernández (Mexico)

6.- To Go Away And Come Back by José Permar (Mexico, Belgium, Hungary)

7.- Memory by Nerea Barros (Spain)

8.- Don't Worry by Juan Vicente Manrique (Mexico)

9.- Sine Die by Camila Moreiras (Spain)

10.- XAR - Obsidian Dream by Edgar Calel, Fernando Pereira dos Santos (Brazil)




*This is a first selection list. A second part will be announced soon to complete it.




Victor Magaña


Francisco Morales